top of page

The 6 Book Series


The Gracie Series, written and illustrated by Grace LaJoy Henderson, follows the lovable character Gracie as she gets caught up in funny situations.  Parents, teachers and librarians will enjoy sharing these engaging stories and listening as the children share their thoughts sparked by the discussion questions in the back of each book.  


The Gracie Series consists of six books: Popcorn Behind the Bush, Cake in My Shoe, Water in His Face, Math on the Table, I Trimmed My Edges, and Puppy Ate My Shorts!  Each story was inspired by entertaining memories from the author’s own life, hence the name Gracie; teaching valuable life lessons while inspiring young readers to use reason, analyze and think critically.  Your child will love these heart-warming stories and so will you!  Collect them all!
Popcorn Behind the Bush

ISBN:  9780998711713   Hardcover

ISBN:  9780998711706  Softcover

A delightful little mystery about a tin of popcorn…

When grandma sends popcorn in the mail and Gracie does not receive it, Gracie goes on a hunt to find out if her family members can help her to decipher a note left by the mailman. Gracie is just about to give up hope when she finally

solves the mystery!
Cake in My Shoe

ISBN:  9780998711775 Hardcover

ISBN:  9780998711720 Softcover

A very determined little girl…

Gracie makes a promise to her father, but comes up with a plan to break it when she sees her brother doing something she wants to do.
Water in His Face

ISBN:  9780692899779 Hardcover

ISBN:  9780998711768 Softcover

Gracie loves challenges!

When Mother asks Gracie to help wake up Brother, she “jumps” at the challenge. But, when her initial efforts to wake him did not work she finally comes up with one last idea.
Math on the Table

ISBN:  9780692899595 Hardcover

ISBN:  9780998711751 Softcover

Two children excited about math, but only one math worksheet...

When Gracie finds a mysterious math worksheet on the table, she goes on a quest to find out how it got there.  When she is not able to find out who it belongs to, she makes a decision that causes her to learn a valuable lesson.
I Trimmed My Edges

ISBN:  9780998711799 Hardcover

ISBN:  9780998711744 Softcover

Grandma is coming over!

When Gracie sees her family members making themselves look nice for Grandma, she wants to look nice for Grandma, too!  What she does causes her family members to become outraged.  But Grandma responded in a way that only a Grandma would.
Puppy Ate My Shorts

ISBN:  9780998711782 Hardcover

ISBN:  9780998711737 Softcover

One pair, two pair, red pair, blue pair...

A cute little puppy takes a bite out of Gracie’s new shorts two times.  But after hearing wise words from Father, Gracie makes a different decision the third time around.

“The stories are fun to read. They are funny!”

~Aaliyah, 5th Grader

“The stories are engaging and thought-provoking!”

~D. Cain, Grandmother of 9

“The series is perfect for teaching sequencing

to emerging and primary readers.”
~L. Moots, Elementary Teacher


“The books are engaging, excited to get to the end!”

~C. Bonness, Retired Teacher


“Gracie is a very determined little girl!”

~A. Miller, Elementary School Social Worker

bottom of page